Winter Solstice by Alice Walker (I Will Keep Broken Things)

From Hard Times Require Furious Dancing – to be sreleasedq in 2010.

Photo by Story Doula

I will keep
Broken
things:
The big clay
Pot
With raised
Iguanas
Chasing
Their
Tails;
Two
Of their
Wise
Heads
Sheared
Off;

I will keep
Broken
things:
The old
Slave
Market
Basket
Brought
To my
Door
By Mississippi
A jagged
Hole
Gouged
In its sturdy
Dark
Oak
Side.

I will keep
Broken
things:
The memory
Of
Those
Long
Delicious
Night
Swims
With
You;

I will keep
Broken
things:
In my house
There
Remains
An
Honored
Shelf
On which
I will
Keep
Broken
Things.

Their beauty
Is
They
Need
Not
Ever
Be
“fixed.”

I will keep
Your
Wild
Free
Laughter
Though
It is now
Missing
Its
Reassuring
And
Graceful
Hinge.

I will keep
Broken
Things:

Thank you
So much

I will keep
Broken
Things.

I will keep
You:

Pilgrim
Of
Sorrow.

I will keep
Myself.

2 Comments

Filed under A Story Doula Kind of Story, Poetry

2 responses to “Winter Solstice by Alice Walker (I Will Keep Broken Things)

  1. Valerie Serrels

    This is really beautiful…”almost” made me cry and I don’t cry as much as I should. I relate with brokenness since I am and know that kind of unexpected sadness about your broken mommy bowl. <>

  2. i know!!! the mommy bowl. so pretty. so broken! i am trying to think of ways to incorporate it into an art project or something. i am a taurus and literally a bull in a china shop, so i am used to the breakage – but this one was really owwwwwiie.

Leave a Reply

