The Director, the Congressional Medal and the Building That Made Me Cry


Reflecting on a great week. Great because I feel I see myself and the brave, smart and beautiful women in my life honored, represented and acknowledged in ways we deserve to be. In ways we haven’t often seen. Far from being support staff, helpers, objects, silent, starved and bound – I saw women this week surge to places of great honor as leaders, visionaries and extremely powerful beings.

Kathryn Bigelow won an Oscar for directing The Hurt Locker. Women Airforce Service Pilots received the Congressional Medal of Honor 65 years after they flew all kinds of planes all through World War II.

And on Sunday, I stood looking up from the base of the magnificent Women’s Building in San Francisco where a gorgeous mural honors the power, the complexity, the dynamism and the incredible journey of women. That mural made me cry because I was seeing women exalted, held up, loud, giant. Revered.

These stories and experiences are healing and absolutely energizing for me and for other women. We don’t see this enough. We don’t see ourselves enough. And when we don’t see ourselves as giants – we cannot imagine a giant future that we are so prepared and able to screateq. More please, more.

2 Comments

Filed under A Story Doula Kind of Story, Giant Adventures

2 responses to “The Director, the Congressional Medal and the Building That Made Me Cry

  1. Pingback: A Day In Life at Kakuma Refugee Camp – Part 1 of 3 – a film by Kate Ofwono « Story Doula

    • Donna Hart

      In that vein, this morning I finish reading “Help” (Kathryn Stockett) this morning. I’m a bit sad to leave the characters of this book. These seemingly ordinary but brave women living in the 1960s Civil Rights Era made me laugh, cry and cheer. A simple message: together we can.

Leave a Reply

